Funding Opportunities

Inclusive Excellence Spirit Awards

Inclusive excellence is integral to UC Irvine's ascendancy among globally preeminent universities. This commitment animates our research, teaching and service mission as a land-grant public university. The purpose of the Inclusive Excellence Spirit Award is to promote advancement of diversity, equity and inclusion at UC Irvine. Award  recipients may use funds for research costs and/or release time.  Through support of faculty activity in this vital area, this award program will spur the growth of campus capacity for inclusive excellence among faculty, students, staff, as well as the communities served by UCI locally, nationally, and globally.

Inclusive Excellence Spirit Award Recipients

Academic Year 2016-2017
Name School Department
Zeev Kain, Michelle Fortier, Belinda Campos School of Medicine / School of Social Sciences Anesthesia & Perioperative Care / Chicano/Latino Studies
Simon Leung Claire Trevor School of the Arts Studio Art
Alessandra Pantano School of Physical Sciences Mathematics
Paul Piff School of Social Sciences Psychology & Social Behavior
Darryl Taylor Claire Trevor School of the Arts Music
Julio Torres School of Humanities Spanish & Portuguese
Tiffany Willoughby-Herard School of Humanities African American Studies
Sheron Wray Claire Trevor School of the Arts Dance

Academic Year 2015-2016
Name School Department
Laura Enriquez School of Social Sciences Chicano/Latino Studies
Emily Grossman School of Social Sciences Cognitive Science
Justin Shaffer Ayala School of Biological Sciences Developmental & Cell Biology
Damien Sojoyner School of Social Sciences Anthropology
Emily Thuma and Adria Imada School of Humanities Gender and Sexuality Studies; History
Kojiro Umezaki School of the Arts Music
Linda Vo School of Humanities Asian American Studies

Academic Year 2014-2015
Name School Department
M. Oreste Fiocco School of Humanities Philosophy
Adria Imada, Seth Davis, Glen Mimura School of Humanities & School of Law History, Law, Film & Media Studies
Emily Rosenberg, Sharon Block, Anita Casavantes-Bradford, Ana Rosas School of Humanities History
Yuqing Guo Program in Nursing Science Nursing Science
Alessandra Pantano School of Physical Sciences Mathematics
Sarah Pressman School of Social Ecology Psychology & Social Behavior
Ana Rosas School of Social Sciences Chicano-Latino Studies