The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defense..." With an annual budget of about $6.9 billion (FY 2010), they are the funding source for approximately 20 percent of all federally supported basic research conducted by America's colleges and universities.

Institutional Transformation (IT) Awards Synopsis Institutional Transformation Awards support academic institutional transformation to promote the increased participation and advancement of women scientists and engineers in academe. These awards support innovative and comprehensive programs for institution-wide change.

See the table below for a list of universities and colleges that have received funding for institutional transformation.

Cohort 1 (2001)

Georgia Institute of Technology

Hunter College City University New York

New Mexico State University

University of California - Irvine

University of Colorado-Boulder

University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

University of Puerto Rico-Humacao

University of Washington

University of Wisconsin-Madison

Cohort 2 (2003)

Case Western Reserve

Columbia University

Kansas State University

University of Alabama-Birmingham

University of Maryland-Baltimore

University of Montana

University of Rhode Island

University of Texas at El Paso

Utah State University

Virginia Polytechnic Institute

Cohort 3 (2005)

Brown University

California State Polytechnic University - Pomona

Cornell University

Iowa State University

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

William Marsh Rice University

University of Arizona

University of Illinois at Chicago

University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Cohort 4 (2008)

Michigan State University

North Dakota State University, Fargo

Northeastern University

Ohio State University

Purdue University

Rutgers University

University of Nebraska, Lincoln

Washington State University

Wright State University

Cohort 5 (2010)

Jackson State University

Lehigh University

Syracuse University

Texas A&M University Main Campus

University of Maine

University of Maryland College Park

West Virginia University Research Corporation

Cohort 6 (2012)

Rochester Institute of Tech

University of California - Davis

University of Cincinnati Main Campus

University of New Hampshire

University of Virginia Main Campus

Four smaller awards were made in 2006 to support promising projects:


NSF IT-Catalyst / IT-Start Grant Recipients

IT-Catalyst awards are designed to support historically resource-challenged institutions in efforts to conduct institutional self-assessment activities, such as data collection and analysis and policy review, in order to identify specific issues in the recruitment, retention and promotion of women scientists and engineers within an institution of higher education.


California Polytechnic State University San Luis Obispo

Delaware State University

New York City College of Technology, CUNY

Rochester Institute of Technology

South Dakota School of Mines & Technology

Towson University

University of Alaska, Fairbanks

University of Minnesota, Duluth

University of Puerto Rico, Mayagüez

University of Wisconsin, La Crosse

Western Washington University